Notified Body

According to articles 154 and 155 of the EC Treaty, the European Community contributes to development and extension of the transeuropean railway system in order to strengthen the railway traffic within Europe. To achieve these objectives the community takes measures to ensure network interoperability, in particular the harmonization of technical specifications.

The assessment of implementation and compliance with these standards is carried out by notified bodies. They have the task to ensure conformity with the harmonized standards for infrastructure and rolling stock projects from design stage through to implementation and putting in service.

Arsenal Race is registered as notified body according to interoperability directive 2008/57/EC, identification number 2250. The notification is published in the NANDO-Database (New Approach Notified and Designated Organisations) and publicly available.

For notification as notified body in Austria, a valid accreditation is obligatory. At the moment Arsenal Race is accredited as inspection body according to EN ISO/IEC 17020 and as certification body for products according to EN ISO/IEC 17065. Currently the accreditation necessary for being notified is changed to ISO/IEC 17065 in Europe. Arsenal Race is conducting this process at present and will therefore comply with all requirements of the ERA document „Requirements for conformity assessment bodies seeking notification“.

The 4th railway act is in preparation and will be implemented on 16th June 2019. The new interoperability directive (EU) 2016/797 will replace the currently valid 2008/57/EC with one year transitional period. Arsenal Race is preparing to comply with the requirements of (EU) 2016/797 in order to provide all services according to the new guideline.

Benannte Stelle

Gemäß den Artikeln 154 und 155 EG-Vertrag trägt die Europäische Gemeinschaft zum Aufbau und Ausbau der transeuropäischen Eisenbahnnetze bei, um eine Stärkung des Schienenverkehrs in Europa zu erreichen. Zur Erreichung dieser Ziele ergreift die Gemeinschaft Maßnahmen, um die Interoperabilität der Netze zu gewährleisten, insbesondere im Bereich der Harmonisierung der technischen Vorschriften.

Die Prüfung der Umsetzung und Einhaltung dieser Normen wird von Benannten Stellen wahrgenommen. Diese haben die Aufgabe, bei Eisenbahninfrastruktur- sowie Schienenfahrzeugprojekten von Beginn der Planung bis zur Realisierung und Inbetriebnahme die Konformität mit den harmonisierten Regelwerken sicherzustellen.

Arsenal Race ist als Benannte Stelle nach Interoperabilitätsrichtlinie 2008/57/EG mit der Identifikationsnummer der Europäischen Kommission 2250 notifiziert. Die Notifizierung ist in der NANDO-Datenbank (New Approach Notified and Designated Organisations) öffentlich einsehbar.

Für die Notifizierung als benannte Stelle muss in Österreich eine gültige Akkreditierung zugrunde liegen. Arsenal Race ist derzeit nach EN ISO/IEC 17020 als Inspektionsstelle und nach EN ISO/IEC 17065 als Produktzertifizierungsstelle akkreditiert. Derzeit wird die der Notifizierung zugrunde liegende Akkreditierung einheitlich in Europa auf die EN ISO/IEC 17065 umgestellt. Arsenal Race führt diesen Prozess zur Zeit durch und wird demzufolge auch alle Anforderungen des Technical Document der ERA (European Union Agency for Railways) „Requirements for conformity assessment bodies seeking notification“ erfüllen.

Das 4. Eisenbahnpaket ist in Vorbereitung zur Umsetzung und wird mit 16. Juni 2019 in Kraft treten. Die neue Interoperabilitätsrichtlinie (EU) 2016/797 wird dann mit einem Jahr Übergangsfrist die derzeit gültige 2008/57/EG ablösen. Arsenal Race ist derzeit schon in Vorbereitung die Anforderungen der (EU) 2016/797 zu erfüllen, damit rechtzeitig alle Leistungen nach der neuen Interoperabilitätsrichtlinie angeboten werden können.